You might wanna read this…

Abortion should be legal, a change of heart…

What do you think of when you read the title of this blog? I am betting that one of two emotions comes to mind… One is downright anger because you vehemently disagree with abortion and think we’d be better off if it was illegal and the other is strong feeling of mutual agreement because you believe that a person has a right to dictate what happens to their body. For years,

For those of you who know me well at all I am sure this comes as a complete shock. First off let me say that I am not in favor of people having abortions. Not here to debate my feelings on that either… If you are okay with abortions that is your choice and I am not here to try and sway you, that’s above my pay grade. I believe that abortion is murder.

Legal or not, some people are going to abort unwanted children. Like it or not, there are people who don’t agree with you on this subject either. I don’t believe that making abortion illegal is going to change anything except the frequency of which even the unhealthiest abortions are performed. A person that believes an abortion is an acceptable way to rid themselves of a pregnancy isn’t going to care whether or not it is legal. They are going to get it done regardless of cost or danger involved. A person that believes this solution is okay is going to continue to think that it’s okay.  Only a change in that person’s heart, in their conscience, down to the core of who they are will change their belief on this. What? You thought standing at the street holding signs and yelling at them would change their mind?! We do not need to make abortion illegal, we need for people to have a change of heart. Until that change of heart happens in a person, it doesn’t matter whether or not abortion is legal. It is legal to anyone who wants it, until that change of heart happens…

It doesn’t matter what your favorite politician says about doing away with abortion, the only thing that will truly change the abortion solution is a change of heart.

Peace out…

10 responses

  1. thelma B

    I, too, believe abortions should remain legal. I’m old enough to remember the times before Roe V Wade and before abortions became legal. Many women died from unsanitary back street abortions and do-it-yourself attempts to end their pregnancy. I can only imagine the desperation and anguish that drove those women to seek out any means to get themselves out of their situation. What you said above was absolutely right: legal or not, those that truly want or need an abortion will seek one out, irrespective of the barbaric methods they have to endure to get it.

    Having said this, I don’t believe that abortion should be used as a method of birth control, and I’m against late term abortions that are performed when the fetus would be old enough to live outside of the womb. But in a realistic world, accidental pregnancies and unprotected sex happens. Abortion should be a legal alternative available to those who, for whatever reasons, can’t or don’t want to have a child. Women shouldn’t be morally judged and “punished” by being forced to bring another life into this world. Why turn an act of unprotected sex that results in an unwanted pregnancy into another tragedy? There already are thousands upon thousands of unwanted children who face young lives of neglect and abuse or are in and out of the foster care system. Every time I’ve pass people on the street protesting with signs outside of clinics where abortions are performed, I wonder how many of them would “put their money where their mouth is” and be willing to adopt an unwanted child and care for it for 18+ years.

    My viewpoint on abortion is simple. If you’re against abortion, don’t get one. But, don’t force your morality or views on anyone else’s right to dictate what happens to their own body.

    January 11, 2012 at 11:17 am

    • First off Thelma, thank you for taking the time to read my blog… I do appreciate it!

      I ultimately think that in life there are actions and consequences… You have to think of possible consequences before you perform an action. I always think about people that take one moment of cheating with someone else and they are divorced, lose their family, see their kids once every two weeks… I know that people have sex unashamedly without thought of repercussions at all, (I was one of them), but regardless of what people do their are consequences. A baby person shouldn’t have to be the one paying the price for someone’s mistake. I know it isn’t ever an easy decision regardless, action=consequence…

      Until a person has a true change of heart though it doesn’t really matter. If a person’s moral values dictate that the murder of a child for their convenience helps them… That is awful. Period.

      We need a change of heart, we all do, myself included…

      January 11, 2012 at 1:12 pm

  2. Randy N

    This was a well written piece stepxen, it got your thoughts across and offered everyone a solution that seems genuinely your own. I too believe a change of heart is what it would take to change a persons decision to get an abortion, as making it illegal will not stop it. Drugs are illegal, underage smoking/drinking/sex is illegal, and so much more. There are laws against all of that, and consequences for those who break those laws. But every day in the great country, people decide that they don’t feel like following those laws, it is just an inevitable part of being human. Though I do not share your belief that abortion should never be considered an option, and that it is murder, I liked reading this article because it was not a stuck up and stuffy political piece of trash.

    Thanks for the read!

    January 11, 2012 at 1:27 pm

    • Excellent point about the drugs and underage drinking… I had that same conversation with my wife yesterday afternoon. I appreciate your compliments, I try my hardest to be genuine to what I believe I am supposed to be so that really means a lot.

      January 11, 2012 at 2:28 pm

  3. Christy

    I couldn’t agree more, having been in clinics working we had ladies who used abortion as birth control, nothing could change the minds or their hearts…. Sad, but maybe someday it won’t be necessary. But I would hate to think of young girls going to back alleys for the old coat hanger routine too…. So many mixed feelings…. Thanks for stating this all so eloquently.

    January 11, 2012 at 3:49 pm

    • Christy, thanks for your kind words! I agree with what you are saying, it is very sad. I’ve read different things about the effects that having an abortion has on a person and it isn’t good. I hate to hear of all the sadness involved all the way around. Again, I thank you for your kind words… It means a lot. I want to express myself honestly but at the same time in a way that doesn’t offend but allows people to read all the way through and also to think about things from all angles.

      January 11, 2012 at 11:09 pm

  4. Paul Tolmas

    I agree and it is a well written and straightforward post. But I’d go one (legal) step further by saying that a man should not decide what a woman can do to her body because a man will never fully comprehend what a woman goes through in making this decision.

    January 11, 2012 at 3:50 pm

    • Paul, I believe that when a woman goes through this that she is ultimately the one that decides it for herself. I bet that if more men were supportive when they played a role in the pregnancy it would affect the ending outcome. Thanks again for taking the time to read this!

      January 11, 2012 at 11:12 pm

  5. Stepxen, I appreciated how you expressed your abhorence of abortion, but you were still respectful of women who have had one or will make that choice in the future. I don’t think abortion should be used as birth control, but as a last resort. I’m lucky–I’ve never been in the awful position of needing an abortion. Remember: all birth control can fail. You can be perfect, for example, in how you take birth control pills, yet a bout of stomach flu can make them ineffective. And if someone feels that she needs an abortion, can’t get one legally, and gets into an unsafe situation to get one, you could not only have a dead fetus, but also a dead or injured mother. They need to remain legal.
    igns
    Thelma said it very well. Those who wave signs and shout, making it more traumatic for a woman going to a clinic for an abortion, need to be willing to step up and adopt a child. Don’t judge; you don’t know what has brought someone to this point.

    January 11, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    • Susan, thanks for taking the time to read this and comment too! I’ve never heard that birth control could possibly fail because of stomach flu or something of that nature… For the longest time I’ve had the attitude that abortion should be illegal and all because of a misrepresentation of the Truth… Sometimes when you hear or see something enough you think it’s okay and while I’ve never been one to think that yelling and screaming at people is of any good use I haven’t shown the love that is needed. For someone to have a change of heart, it takes something special. I feel that I have this something special but it isn’t something that can be screamed, yelled or insulted to get across!

      January 11, 2012 at 11:17 pm

Leave a Reply

