You might wanna read this…

Dear Oklahoma,

I know we don’t know each other too well but I feel that given what you’ve done recently I needed to tell you something. You may not remember, but I hate politics something fierce so for me to comment on something political means it got a lot of publicity.

Recently you passed a law of some sort that doesn’t allow people to have abortions in your state, and in a way I kind of applaud that. In a different way I wonder what you think you will accomplish. I am not in favor of abortions at all and for years I thought that a law like you passed would be an incredible breakthrough but to be honest with you I don’t think that this will really do anything to help the abortion epidemic. Well you know what? Maybe it will help… There may be someone who is considering terminating a pregnancy that won’t do it because they can’t or won’t travel out-of-state, and for the life of an unborn child that is a definite win.

But I don’t think that’s what you’re going for… I think that you think that by doing this that people in Oklahoma that want to murder their child will just not do it because they won’t make the effort to drive an hour or two to get it done and I think you have missed this by a mile. See the solution here isn’t to block a place where they can do something that by law in the United States is legal, the only true solution here is a change of heart by the person wishing to end the life of their child for mere convenience. With a true change of heart, said person isn’t going to want to end a life. That, and that alone is the only real solution here. The hearts of people have to change. For this reason, I believe that Abortion Should Be Legal… I wrote about this before but given what you’ve done it needs to be revisited.

I wrote in a blog about What I Tell My Kids… And if a person that was considering this solution would heed that advice, to truly heed that advice (the most important advice in the world) then there is no way that they’d go through with such a tragic ending for their pregnancy. Treating other people the way you want to be treated, every one, whether in or out of the womb, would end such issues because of a change of heart required to truly do so.

 

4 responses

  1. Brian Pages

    I have to disagree with you on this for 2 reasons:
    1. Biblically speaking, an unborn child is a human being. They should be granted all protection that any other person is granted. It is not legal in this country to take the life of another human being.
    2. In 1774, Rhode Island made slavery illegal. That’s 89 years before the Emancipation Proclamation. Was Rhode Island wrong to do that?

    Oklahoma isn’t just standing up to say they don’t like abortion, they are standing up the say, hey, that’s a person in there, one who is endowed by their creator with the right to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.

    February 24, 2012 at 12:19 am

    • I’m not saying that an unborn child doesn’t deserve the protection, I’m just saying that there is a law in our country that says abortion is legal and whether or not it is right, a person from Oklahoma can still get in their car and drive to Texas and terminate a life.

      Your point two, I don’t think they were wrong. Like I said, my only point is that it is that right or wrong it is considered legal in the U.S.

      Ultimately I agree that an unborn child deserves every right that an already born person does. Just getting back to the point that a heart change would make all the difference in the world. If a girl that was pregnant said I want to treat people the way I want to be treated, they’d never terminate a baby.

      February 24, 2012 at 1:09 am

  2. Brian Pages

    I guess my point is that someone needs to be first. If we all just say the law is the law, nothing will ever change.

    If the government continues to say Abortion is ok, then how is that girl ever going to decide otherwise. The law does take a role in establishing moral standards.

    Again, in 1774, slavery was legal in the United States and if a person wanted to have slaves, they could move to any other state in the union.

    February 24, 2012 at 2:07 am

    • I agree with you bro…

      February 25, 2012 at 1:52 pm

Leave a Reply

