You might wanna read this…

2013 A.L. West Predictions…

So seeing as we are one day into the 2013 MLB campaign, I figure it’s time for me to start getting my season predictions out there. As you look at predictions you tend to notice that there are a few theories that people use when making their predictions. I’m going to address what I believe to be the two most commonly used theories.

First you’ve got the homer theory… This is the theory that many fans subscribe to every year because that’s just what you’re supposed to do! “I don’t see anyone over the Angels”, if you “don’t go in with a positive attitude then what’s the point?” I was told earlier when I posted my A.L. West prediction. Now I totally understand this line of reasoning because that’s part of what a new season brings for every team, a clean slate and hope that this year is the year. Also, in this theory you just rate the teams you hate last just because well, you know, they suck and you hate them!

Second you’ve got the “I don’t wanna eat crow later” theory… This is the theory that, in my opinion, fewer fans subscribe to (unlike myself) because like the homer theory there isn’t the amount of hope involved or so it’s taken that way. It basically is a bit more realistic in a sense as well as being apprehensive at the same time. You don’t want to predict that your team does to well because if they don’t you’ll be hearing about it at the end of the year. Of course the homer theory gets to really revel in glory if they are correct though!

I have a lot of hope that this is the year that the Angels are going to go all the way! They’ve added another former MVP and all-star hitter to the lineup as well as get rid of some of the dead weight and they’ve bolstered up the shakiest part of the team, the bullpen. After watching game one and being thoroughly frustrated with the batting lineup, I walked away with a huge sense of satisfaction in watching the bullpen take care of business inning after inning and walking away with a W in the end! As frustrating as it seemed it was well worth it when Iannetta singled in those runs in the 13th inning!

So I’ve said all of that to say this, I’ve got two predictions for the A.L. West. I’m going to give my I don’t wanna eat crow theory first because I tend to be more cautious, but I’m also going to give a homer (what I’d wish for theory as well) theory because that’s just what I’d like to see happen for the team I root for!

DON’T WANNA EAT CROW THEORY PREDICTION FOR THE A.L. WEST:

Texas

Anaheim

Seattle

Oakland

Houston

HOMER THEORY PREDICTION FOR THE A.L. WEST:

Anaheim

Houston

Seattle

Oakland

Texas

If you have any comments feel free to tweet me comments, @stepxen or message me… I’m still working on my predictions for the league and other divisions and hope to have them available soon!

3 responses

  1. I honestly think the divison will go as follows:

    Anaheim
    Oakland
    Seattle
    Texas
    Houston

    April 2, 2013 at 7:52 am

  2. Brian

    I can see that. I think those middle 3 spots will be within 3 games. I also think Josh is going to have a very good year.

    April 2, 2013 at 9:25 am

    • It’s really tough to figure to be honest. Seattle added a few hitters, Texas lost a few and added one as well. The A’s stayed the same mostly and the Angels added Josh and also had a good bit of pitching turnover.

      The real wild card is the Astros. Brand new to the whole thing but most expect them to be the doormat for a good while in a tough division.

      April 2, 2013 at 12:29 pm

Leave a Reply

